The most memorable Valentines Day card I ever received came years ago, when I was a fifth-grade teacher. In Love and War: The King of Chocolate and St. Valentine’s Day | In Custodia Legis: Law Librarians of Congress. Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. Man, I loved the smell of those markers. He was a 4th century ascetic who lived for 20 years in an abandoned fort, only occasionally performing miracles and healing people who broke in on his solitude. 1/2 tsp vanilla Inside was a giant heart with two eyes and a huge, smiling mouth, and the inscription, “Mrs Wiggs – HAPPY VD” and it was signed, Love, Melvin. Add eggs one by one with a pinch of salt, and add the vanilla. Finally, here is something to make your Valentine’s Day rich and delicious. I don’t know if I’m capable of making a souffle, but that sounds so good and you make it sound so easy even though I can’t make anything out of a box, let alone from scratch. I laughed out loud… Happy VD. Pick wisely because you will be doing it for eternity or else you might get put in charge of the lost and found like St. Anthony.

The first step might be to admit you have a problem (beer for breakfast might be an indication). I’m still intimidated by baking. No matter how much trouble he got into, Melvin always had that special joie de vivre that made him so much fun, even when he was disrupting the other twenty kids in the class. Melt the chocolate in the microwave or in a double boiler.

List of patron saints by occupation and activity. I found this in the magazine discard pile at the public library. Cream butter and sugar. Saint Lawrence of Rome is your go-to man, the patron saint of cooking. Otherwise you might get one of those ironic patronages the Church seems to love so much. The second step might be to reach out to Saint Monica. I like to think a lot of his issues stemmed from his natural exuberance.